There were 17 people at our 24th meetup on the 24th of November and this time, we were joined by the awesome Gautam Shenoy, but in true celebrity fashion, he escaped the glare of the paparazzi and therefore does not feature in the picture below :( Jokes apart though, I learnt about a lot of new books in this meetup and I hope you all did too :blush:

This time Mr.Das was an excellent photographer in addition to being an awesome person. (Redemption)

The following were the books discussed (and yes, this is a Lot of books. Guess this is what happens when you skip a month’s meetup :D) -

Books by Foreign authors:

  • Creative Confidence - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17288649-creative-confidence
  • How to be Human - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36200532-how-to-be-human
  • A Christmas Carol - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5326.A_Christmas_Carol
  • Milkman - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36047860-milkman
  • Great American Short Stories - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/47979586-great-american-short-stories
  • Creativity Inc - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18077903-creativity-inc
  • Creative Struggle : Zen Pencils - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/35924700
  • Ducks, Newburyport - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/43412920
  • The Testaments - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42975172-the-testaments
  • Girl, Woman, Other - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/41081373
  • Gunboat Jack - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48929657-gunboat-jack
  • Pan’s Labyrinth - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42117981-pan-s-labyrinth
  • Flatland - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/433567.Flatland
  • Gödel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24113.G_del_Escher_Bach
  • The Mind’s I - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2081.The_Mind_s_I
  • A Gentleman in Moscow - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34066798-a-gentleman-in-moscow
  • Underland - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41817481-underland
  • Shoe Dog - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27220736-shoe-dog
  • Open - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6480781-open
  • The Emperor’s New Mind - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/179744.The_Emperor_s_New_Mind
  • Phantoms in the Brain - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31555.Phantoms_in_the_Brain
  • God Created The Integers - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2096.God_Created_the_Integers
  • Programmed Inequality - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32078427-programmed-inequality
  • Freedom at Midnight - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/204123.Freedom_at_Midnight
  • The Philosopher and the Wolf - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5590168-the-philosopher-and-the-wolf
  • The Third Chimpanzee - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/49234.The_Third_Chimpanzee
  • Mushi Shi - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/905756.Mushishi_Vol_1
  • The last question - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4808763-the-last-question
  • The 6th Extinction - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17910054-the-sixth-extinction
  • Foundation - https://www.goodreads.com/topic/list_book/46654.The_Foundation_Trilogy
  • Flowers for Algernon - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36576608-flowers-for-algernon
  • The End of your Life Book Club - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13414676-the-end-of-your-life-book-club
  • You Beneath Your Skin - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/47634028
  • Accidental Magic - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15805132-accidental-magic
  • Thuppari…(?)
  • The Light Fantastic - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34506.The_Light_Fantastic
  • Equal Rites - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34507.Equal_Rites
  • American Gods - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30165203-american-gods
  • The Upside of Irrationality - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7815744-the-upside-of-irrationality
  • 50 Things that Shaped Irrationality - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33358206-fifty-inventions-that-shaped-the-modern-economy
  • Steve Jobs - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11084145-steve-jobs
  • Snow - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11691.Snow
  • Sons of Fortune - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/78985.Sons_of_Fortune
  • Fermat’s Enigma - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38412.Fermat_s_Enigma
  • 84, Charing Cross - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/368916.84_Charing_Cross_Road
  • The Collected Works of AJ Fikrey - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18293427-the-storied-life-of-a-j-fikry
  • The Astonishing Color of After - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35604686-the-astonishing-color-of-after
  • The purgatory of Half Forgotten Riddles - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48418060-the-purgatory-of-half-forgotten-riddles
  • Ball Lightning - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32076670-ball-lightning
  • Dr. Sleep - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16130549-doctor-sleep?
  • Perennial Seller - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32968546-perennial-seller
  • The Man who Played with Fire - https://www.goodreads.com/cs/book/show/43887587-the-man-who-played-with-fire
  • Hickey’s Bengal Gazette - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40186305-hicky-s-bengal-gazette
  • Parliamental - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/46360973-parliamental
  • Homo Deus - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31138556-homo-deus
  • Man’s Search for Meaning - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4069.Man_s_Search_for_Meaning
  • By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1428.By_the_River_Piedra_I_Sat_Down_and_Wept
  • Siddhartha - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/52036.Siddhartha
  • On the shortness of Life - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/97412.On_the_Shortness_of_Life
  • Angels and Demons - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/643301.Angels_and_Demons_The_Da_Vinci_Code
  • Scythe - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28954189-scythe
  • My Lovely Wife - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/39796904-my-lovely-wife
  • Carry On - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32768522-carry-on
  • The Honeymooner - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/40606975
  • The Unhoneymooners - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42201431-the-unhoneymooners
  • The turn of the Key - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42080142-the-turn-of-the-key
  • Salt to the Sea - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25614492-salt-to-the-sea
  • Gods without Men - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11076138-gods-without-men
  • Weapons of Math Destruction - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28186015-weapons-of-math-destruction
  • Skin in the Game - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36064445-skin-in-the-game
  • Karl Marx’s Greatness and Illusion - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29613503-karl-marx

Books by Indian authors:

  • Bhaunri - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/46033194
  • Daura - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/46016752-daura
  • Patang - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/29771980
  • Speaking of Shiva - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/389661.Speaking_of_Siva
  • Ladies Coupe - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/109728.Ladies_Coup_
  • Roads to Mussoorie - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2006883.Roads_To_Mussoorie
  • The Nine Chambered Heart - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36396222-the-nine-chambered-heart
  • Boats on Land - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16069752-boats-on-land
  • Gita Press & The making of Hindu India - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26060875-gita-press-and-the-making-of-hindu-india
  • The Palace of Illusions - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1774836.The_Palace_of_Illusions
  • The ugliness of the Indian Male and other propositions - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3750744-the-ugliness-of-the-indian-male-and-other-propositions

Graphic Novels & (Indie)Comics :

  • Sabrina - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37533587-sabrina
  • Bangalore - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34448178-bangalore
  • Penumbra (Janardan Maity #1) - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/31348457
  • Here Falls The Shadow (Janardan Maity #2) - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34953165-here-falls-the-shadow
  • The disappearance of Sally Sequeira (Janardan Maity #3) - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40183115-the-disappearance-of-sally-sequeira
  • Lone Wolf and Cub - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/191212.Lone_Wolf_and_Cub_Vol_1
  • Buddha - https://www.goodreads.com/series/67448-buddha
  • Opus - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/22551869
  • My Inktober Story
  • Paper dosa
  • Munnu - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/25394441
  • Flatland, The Film - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mfglluny8Z0
  • Godel, Escher, Bach : A lecture Part 1 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lWZ2Bz0tS-s
  • Godel, Escher, Bach : A lecture Part 2 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqmUuHnvJ98

Member’s Picks

As of this edition, we’re starting this section where we’ll pick 2 of BBB’s more …voracious.. readers and have them mention separately some books that they particularly liked for this month. These books were not discussed but they will be in the next meetup :)

Rida’s picks:

  • Wish I Could Tell You - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/47872026-wish-i-could-tell-you
  • Dating You Hating You - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32620304-dating-you-hating-you
  • Her Royal Highness - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/41734205
  • In an Absent Dream - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38244358-in-an-absent-dream
  • On Dublin Street - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15760001-on-dublin-street

Varun’s picks:

  • The Left Hand of Darkness
  • Johannes Cabal the Necromancer
  • Psmith, Journalist
  • Journey under the Midnight Sun
  • Time Travel : A history

If you’re reading any of these and want to tell us about your thoughts, leave them in the comments below :)

Until next time! :blush: